Tobacco Free Initiative

SEATCA receives the WHO Director-General Special Recognition Award

Every year, Dr Margaret Chan, WHO Director-General, recognizes people and institutions that have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the policies and measures contained in the WHO FCTC and its guidelines, which takes the form of World No Tobacco Day Awards and WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards of Contribution to Global Tobacco Control. This year, one of the two WHO Director-General Special Recognition Awards was granted to the South East Asia Tobacco Control Alliance (SEATCA).


Dr Bungon Ritthiphakdee, Director of the SEATCA, received the award from Director of Programme Management, Dr Takeshi Kasai, on behalf of the Regional Director, Dr Shin Young-soo at WHO Regional Office for the Western Pacific on 26 August 2104.

SEATCA has played a key role in promoting tobacco control initiatives and policies regionally especially in the area of tobacco taxation. Since 2009, through its Southeast Asia Initiative on Tobacco Tax (SITT), SEATCA has collaborated with the ASEAN countries to assist them in achieving tax policy reforms to reduce tobacco demand.


Related links