Candidates announced for next WHO Regional Director for the Western Pacific

Media release

The list of candidates for the next Regional Director of the Western Pacific was today sent by World Health Organization (WHO) Director-General Dr Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus to all Members of WHO’s Western Pacific Region.

The candidates are as follows:

  • Dr Narimah Awin, proposed by Malaysia
  • Dr Takeshi Kasai, proposed by Japan
  • Dr Susan Mercado, proposed by the Philippines
  • Dr Colin Tukuitonga, proposed by New Zealand

The nomination will take place during the Sixty-ninth session of the Regional Committee for the Western Pacific, 8-12 October in Manila, Philippines. There are 30 Members of the Regional Committee for the Western Pacific eligible to vote in the election.*

The nominated candidate’s name will be submitted for appointment to the 114th session of the WHO Executive Board in January 2019. The new Regional Director will take office on 1 February 2019 for a 5 year term.

For more information on the election process and candidates, click here

Notes to editors

*The 30 Members of the Regional Committee eligible to vote in the election for Regional Director of the Western Pacific are as follows: Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Fiji, France (which has responsibility for French Polynesia, New Caledonia, and Wallis and Futuna), Japan, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Micronesia (Federated States of), Mongolia, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (which has responsibility for the Pitcairn Islands), United States of America (which has responsibility for American Samoa, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands), Vanuatu, and Viet Nam.

Media contact

Mr Ruel E. Serrano
Communications Unit
Mobile: +63 908 891 4532