Country Focus

CSU's Global Fund - related work

Given the amount of Global Fund funding channeled into countries in the Western Pacific (approximately USD1.24 billion), approximately 60 WHO staff in this region are engaged in Global Fund-related country support. CSU plays an important role in this work as it relates to assisting countries in grant governance and oversight, technical cooperation and implementation. CSU’s role encompasses work at the global, regional and country levels.

Global level

At the global level, CSU plays an advocacy role, ensuring that the Western Pacific Region is adequately represented. WHO is involved in strategy and implementation discussions with the Global Fund. CSU assists in communicating the outcomes and implications of these discussions to the Regional and Country Offices.

Regional level

CSU helps to coordinate Global Fund discussions with partners and the relevant disease and health systems units at the regional level in order to develop a holisitic country approach. CSU also assists with the mapping of regional technical assistance (TA) needs and helps identify resources to fill those gaps. CSU’s experience with the various Global Fund rounds and grants in the region enable it to serve as a hub for lessons learnt and best practices across the region.

Country level

At the country level, CSU helps coordinate the necessary TA and inputs needed throughout the Global Fund grant process. CSU uses Global Fund recommendations on national health planning to assist the countries in strengthening their national health and disease strategies. CSU also serves as a general back-stop for information and assistance on Global Fund matters.

Updates and resources


Global Fund in the Western Pacific Region

  • Funding committed through 2012 based on signed agreements: USD 4 million
  • Grants are being implemented in HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and health systems strengthening;
  • Recipient countries: Cambodia, China, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Mongolia, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Viet Nam, Solomon Islands, Fiji, Cook Islands, Kiribati, the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Mircronesia, Nauru, Niue, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.