Country Focus

WHO Country Liaison Office in Vanuatu

In May 1953, Vanuatu (formerly New Hebrides), was assigned to the Western Pacific Region at the Sixth World Health Assembly ''without prejudice to any questions regarding its sovereignty'' as an area. In 1980, New Hebrides won its independence from Britain and France and was renamed Vanuatu. It joined WHO on 7 March 1983 as a Member State.

Vanuatu is covered by the WHO Representative Office in the South Pacific, and a WHO Country Liaison Officer was designated in March 1981.


Acting WHO Country Liaison Officer in Vanuatu : Kool, Dr Jacob