In May 1953, Vanuatu (formerly New Hebrides), was assigned to the Western Pacific Region at the Sixth World Health Assembly ''without prejudice to any questions regarding its sovereignty'' as an area. On 30 July 1980, New Hebrides won its independence from Britain and France and was renamed Vanuatu. It joined WHO on 7 March 1983 as a Member State.

Vanuatu is covered by the WHO Representative Office in the South Pacific, and a WHO Country Liaison Officer was designated in March 1981.

Contact us

The WHO Country Liaison Officer in Vanuatu: Dr Jacob Kool

Address: Ministry of Health Iatika Complex, Cornwall Street, PO Box 177, Port Vila, Vanuatu

Telephone: (678) 27 683


Ministry of Health

Address: Iatika Complex Private Mail Bag 009, Port Vila, Vanuatu

Telephone: (678) 22512