In May 1953, Kiribati (formerly Gilbert Islands) was assigned to the Western Pacific Region at the Sixth World Health Assembly ''without prejudice to any questions regarding sovereignty'' as an area. On 12 July 1979, Kiribati became an independent Republic, within the British Commonwealth. It joined WHO on 26 July 1984 as a Member State.
The WHO Representative Office in the South Pacific has covered Kiribati since its establishment, and the Country Liaison Officer was designated ine 1982.

Contact us

WHO Country Liaison Officer:
Dr Ezekiel Nukuro

Address: World Health Organization Bikenibeu, Tarawa Kiribati

Telephone: (686) 28231


Ministry of Health & Medical Services

Address: Nawerewere, Tarawa, Kiribati P.O. Box 268, Bikenibue (Nawerewere),Tarawa, Kiribati Office Hours: 0800-1230, 1330-1615

Telephone: (686) 28100