Countries and areas

The Western Pacific Region, one of the six regions of the World Health Organization, is home to approximately 1.8 billion people, more than one-fourth of the world's population. It stretches over a vast area, from China in the north and west, to New Zealand in the south, and French Polynesia in the east. One of the most diverse of the WHO regions, the Western Pacific constitutes some of the world's least developed countries as well as the most rapidly emerging economies. It includes highly developed countries such as Australia, Japan, New Zealand, the Republic of Korea and Singapore; and fast growing economies such as China and Viet Nam.

There are 37 countries and areas in the Western Pacific Region. These are:

* Associate Member

Note: The following Member States are responsible for areas in the Western Pacific Region: China (Hong Kong and Macao); France (French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna); United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (Pitcairn Islands); and the United States of America (American Samoa, Guam and Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands). Tokelau is an Associate Member.

Data and statistics

Contact information

P.O. Box 2932
1000 Manila
Telephone: (+63 2) 528 8001
Fax: (+63 2) 521 1036 or 526 0279