Regional Committee

WHO/A. Esquillon

The Regional Committee consists of representatives from the Region’s Member States and Associate Members who meet annually in October. In addition, representation includes Members responsible for areas in the Region.1

Areas such as Hong Kong (China) and Macao (China) and New Caledonia (France) also participate in the Regional Committee on their own in accordance with Article 47 of the WHO Constitution and with Resolution WHA2.103.

1 Members responsible for areas in the Western Pacific Region are:

  • France (for French Polynesia and Wallis and Futuna)
  • United Kingdom (for Pitcairn Islands)
  • United States of America (for American Samoa, Guam, Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands)