WHO in the Western Pacific

Office-specific expected results 2012–2013

The Western Pacific Region, one of the six regions of the World Health Organization, is home to approximately 1.7 billion people, nearly one-third of the world's population. It stretches over a vast area, from China in the north and west, to New Zealand in the south, and French Polynesia in the east. One of the most diverse of the WHO regions, the Western Pacific constitutes some of the world's least developed countries and areas as well as the most rapidly emerging economies.

There are 37 countries and areas in the Western Pacific Region, 30 of which will receive WHO-funded technical cooperation in 2012–2013. Of the remaining seven, two are Overseas Territories – Pitcairn Island (United Kingdom); and Wallis and Futuna (France) and five have foregone WHO funding for 2012–2013 – Australia, Hong Kong (China), Macao (China), New Caledonia and New Zealand.

Regional Office